This website has been archived. For the latest information about WorldSkills please visit

Daniel Furr

Competitor in Skill: Bricklaying
Country: United States of America

How did you get interested in your skill?
I became interested in my skill during my 9th grade year of high school. I desired to learn more about this ancient art of a trade.

Where did you do your training for your skill?
I did all of my high school and college training at Mt. Pleasant High School under the experienced brick mason, Mr. Ryan Shaver. For the World training I have been practicing at Central Cabarrus High School just a few minutes down the road.

How did you first find out about your Member organization and its programs?
I competed through an organization in the U.S. known as SkillsUSA, as a secondary and post-secondary competitor. I was asked to apply for the chance to represent the U.S. as a member of its WorldTeam and I was lucky enough to make the cut.

Who influenced you to pursue your skill as a career?
Ryan Shaver, former high school instructor, influenced me to pursue a career in engineering and use the knowledge in my skill as a base.

Describe your most memorable moment so far with WorldSkills?
I would say meeting the entire U.S. team at the SkillsUSA national conference and having a blast of a week with them has been the most memorable moment thus far.

Describe what your experience has been since your involvement with WorldSkills
My experience has been a difficult one actually. Finding time to practice outside of school and work is not an easy task but I am committing as much time as possible. I cannot wait to travel outside of the U.S. for the first time to Brazil, and spend it with the best teammates I could ever ask for.

Did participating in the skills competitions and training for WorldSkills help you progress in your skill? Please describe.
Yes, competing at the local, state, and national level has helped me progress in my skill. However, nothing I have built is near as intricate and challenging as the WorldSkills projects.

What do you currently do? Where do you work?
I am currently a civil engineering student at North Carolina State University in Raleigh, NC. This summer I am interning at Carolina Stalite Co., specifically working with the materials testing and quality control lab that is located onsite.

What are your future career aspirations?
I hope to attain my B.S. in Civil Engineering within the next 2-3 years depending on whether I choose to study abroad or go for a co-op with an engineering firm. After college I would love to project manage for a large masonry contractor, continue working for the aggregate company Carolina Stalite, or possibly start my own engineering and masonry company. Whatever it is that I do, I want do it wholeheartedly and with a desire to excel above others in the same industry.